Tags

,

I know I’ve been MIA lately…things have been very busy (but exciting!) on the job front. I don’t want to speak too soon…but I’ll let you know if/when things pan out.

Anyways, with election day upon us, I have been seeing all sorts of cool/funny tributes to presidents online. Here are some of my faves:

I’m loving all of the songs people make Obama/Romney sing. There are a lot of good ones, but my two favorites probably have to be Obama’s “Call Me Maybe” and the mixed “Will the Real Mitt Romney Please Stand Up.”

Whenever I think of presidents, I inevitably think of the Animaniacs’ President song, which I memorized back in high school for the A.P. U.S. History exam. Shout out to Katie Yaske for alerting me to its existence and doing countless sing-a-longs with me!

Speaking of APUSH and Katie Yaske, we also loved Dick, the amazing 1999 movie about Richard Nixon. And, the Checkers speech (FF to :45).

This blog is pretty awesome too. It strives to “brand” each of the presidents. They aren’t so much brands as retro-y posters, but they’re still interesting. A few highlights:

Election Day 2012 by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Election Day 2012 by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Election Day 2012 by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Harry Truman, weird little human…(It’s from the song. Watch it, okay?!)

Finally, my favorite president fun fact: President Taft was a BIG guy…and rumor has it he got stuck in the White House bathtub after his inauguration and needed help getting pried out. What we know for sure is that he later had an extra large tub installed 🙂

Happy voting, all!

