Tags

, , ,

So I found these adorable little guys on Pinterest, but I couldn’t find any source or how-to…so I thought I would share what I learned!

Pumpkin (shaped) Rice Krispie Treats by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Let me preface the “things you’ll need” section by saying that though I did A LOT of research to find the best Rice Krispie recipe…this didn’t turn out to be this. So I encourage you to keep looking (and I’ll do the same)…and let me know if you find it!

Things You’ll Need:

  • 1 10 oz. bag of mini marshmallows
  • 4 tbs. butter (rumor has it this may have been where I went wrong…)
  • 5½ cups of Rice Krispies cereal (the 9 oz. box was sufficient)
  • Food coloring–yellow, red, and green
  • Mini Twix bars OR Rolos
  • Fondant–buy pre-made at a craft store or purchase:
    • 1½ tablespoons light corn syrup
    • 1½ tablespoons shortening (e.g. Crisco)
    • 1/8 teaspoon salt
    • 1/8 teaspoon vanilla
    • Powdered sugar

Directions:

Put the butter in a pot large enough to hold the final product. Melt on low heat, being sure not to let it burn.

Melting Butter by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Slowly add marshmallows, on VERY low heat! I can’t stress that enough–you want them to melt, but they burn very easily so it has to be gradual.

Melting Marshmallows by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Once butter and marshmallows are melted and mixed, add food coloring to make the mixture orange.

Orange Melted Marshmallows by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Add Rice Krispie cereal and thoroughly mix into marshmallow mixture. Leave on very low heat to keep the mixture malleable.

Orange Rice Krispies by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Scoop out enough of the mixture to make one pumpkin. (I used a cup to balance my Twix stems, but the consensus among my eaters was that they were a bit too large. BFF Sarah suggested I use Rolos for smaller pumpkins, which I thought was brilliant!)

Scoop of Orange Rice Krispies by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Using clean hands, roll mixture into a ball and set aside. Continue to scoop and roll, working quickly so the mixture in the pot neither burns nor cools.

Orange balls of Rice Krispie by My Life as a Trophy Wife

After they have all been scooped, but hopefully aren’t completely cooled, put in the stems. To use the Twix bars, cut them in half with a sharp knife, then stick them into the pumpkins, pushing down a bit so they sink in and won’t fall off/over. It is important the pumpkins still be a big warm so that they won’t crack when you do this, and they’ll accept the Twix into the fold.

Pumpkin Rice Krispies with Twix Stem by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Let the pumpkins cool and harden a bit, and turn to the leaves and vines. If you bought the pre-made fondant, skip to the next step. If not, mix together all of the fondant ingredients except the powdered sugar first. Then slowly add powdered sugar until the fondant is hard but still somewhat malleable.

Next, dye your fondant green. I just put several drops of food coloring into mine and then folded it around in my hands until it had been completely dyed.

Dying Fondant Green by My Life as a Trophy Wife

I ended up adding a lot more food coloring than is shown here

Green Fondant by My Life as a Trophy Wife

The final color!

To create the vines, take a small lump and roll it out with your hands into a long, skinny rope. Cut off a piece about 4 inches long and affix one end to one of your pumpkins near the stem. Then create loops, sticking the bottom part of each loop to the pumpkin.

Pumpkin Rice Krispies with Vines by My Life as a Trophy Wife

For the leaves, use a rolling pin to roll out the rest of the green fondant. Using a sharp knife, cut out little leaf shapes, then affix one end of them where your vine started near the stem.

Single Pumpkin Rice Krispie Treat by My Life as a Trophy Wife

And voila! You’re done! I transported mine in a cupcake carried, but you could also stick them in clear cellophane bags and tie with a cute ribbon or something. I was a little crunched for time, but it occurred to me to make them more Halloweeny by giving them faces like my Jack-o-Lantern cake pops.

