Tags

, , ,

I’ve told you before that I love fall food. So far, this has been evidenced with my many pumpkin recipes (bread, cupcakes), but I ALSO love things with apples! One of my favorite, super easy fall (or anytime) recipes is homemade applesauce. It is SO much better than store bought, especially when served warm!

Homemade Applesauce Close-Up by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Stuff You’ll Need:

  • Apples (I used 5 large apples, which yielded about 3½ cups of sauce, but you can easily adjust according to how much you want. I will say that it keeps well, and thaws well after being frozen!)
  • Cinnamon

Apples by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Directions

Start by peeling and chopping up your apples. I used my nifty apple-peeler-corer-slicer, one of our fabulous wedding registry gifts.

Apple Peeler Corer Slicer by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Peeled, sliced, cored apple by My Life as a Trophy Wife

I quartered the peeled, cored, sliced apples, and tossed them into a large pot with a little bit of water (just enough to cover the bottom of the pan) over medium heat.

Sliced apples in the pot by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Now just wait! Stir occasionally. As the apples soften, you may want to mash them a bit. Depending on how smooth you want the applesauce, you can use a masher or just a spoon. I like mine chunky.

Mushy apples by My Life as a Trophy Wife

When the apples have softened into a delicious mush, add cinnamon to taste and stir.

Applesauce with cinnamon by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Remove from heat. If you want it smoother at this point, you may put it in the food processor…I, however, like mine just the way it is.

Delicious Homemade Applesauce by My Life as a Trophy Wife

Served on our beloved wedding china!

