Tags

, , ,

A bold claim, I know. But I really think this recipe can handle it. It is the perfect blend of spicy, pumpkiny, and scrumptious!

Closeup of pumpkin bread slices

Things You’ll Need:

  • 1 ½ cups butter or margarine, softened
  • 4 ½ cups sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 ½ tablespoons baking powder
  • 2 ½ teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon ground cloves
  • 1 tablespoon ground nutmeg
  • 24 oz. canned solid pumpkin (about 2 ½ to 3 cups)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350°. In a (really) large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar.

Creamed butter and sugar for pumpkin bread

Add eggs and mix well.

Eggs, flour, and sugar for pumpkin bread

Add in the baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, ground cloves, and nutmeg and continue mixing.

Add spices to pumpkin bread batter

Slowly add flour and mix until just added in. It will be looking a bit dry and crumbly at this point, but don’t worry! The pumpkin will make it all better.

Pumpkin bread batter without the pumpkin

Mix in pumpkin.

Pumpkin bread batter

Pour into 3 greased loaf pans (I made 2 loaves and 9 jumbo muffins).

Pumpkin bread batter in pan

Bake for 1 hour or until knife inserted in center comes out clean. The bread is a much darker/brownish color than most bread, so it looks done deceptively early…but do not be fooled!

Baked Pumpkin Bread

I like to set the loaves on their side a little bit after I’ve taken them out of the oven because it seems to help the bread come out a bit. Also, this kind of bread always seems to sink in in the center a bit…I don’t know why that is, but it doesn’t at all affect the taste!

Pumpkin bread on its side

Let cool a bit, then enjoy!

Sliced Pumpkin Bread Loaf

Pumpkin Muffins

Slices of Pumpkin Bread

I confess, I don’t ever put butter on my pumpkin bread because it is so moist and delicious on its own…I just thought it made my picture prettier!

