Tags

, , , , ,

A dessert straight out of Deboolah’s Delectable Dishes, my absolute favorite cookbook compiled by my fantastic chef of a Mom. This is the first recipe I’m sharing with you all because I am THAT confident you’ll love it.

Things You’ll Need:

1 adorable apron (okay, maybe you don’t need this…but I really think it make baking more fun)
50 light caramels (1 – 14 oz bag)
2/3 cup evaporated milk
¾ cup melted butter
1 German chocolate cake mix (dry)
1 cup chocolate chips
1 cup chopped nuts (optional)

Instructions:

Put on that fantastic apron and then preheat oven to 350°. Grease and flour a 9×13 pan. Melt butter and combine with dry cake mix, 1/3 cup of evaporated milk, and nuts (I don’t like nuts, so I skipped them in this rendition). Press ½ of batter into the pan (if you’re having trouble splitting it exactly, err on the side of more down. You want to be sure you’ve covered the whole bottom of the pan, but you’re just going to crumble the rest on the top).

Next, unwrap all of your 50 caramels and put them into a saucepan with 1/3 cup evaporated milk. Melt over low heat (you will pretty much need to stand next to this and tend to it to avoid burning the caramel).

While you are melting your caramel mixture, put the pan with the first ½ of the batter into the oven for 6 minutes. The timing of these two elements usually works out perfectly.

Sprinkle chocolate chips over baked cake. The recipe calls for 1 cup of chocolate chips, but I usually just sprinkle them around until I think it looks good. Deboolah uses semi-sweet chocolate chips, but I generally use milk chocolate, and I have also tried dark chocolate. It doesn’t make a huge difference; it just depends on what you like.

Spread caramel mixture over chocolate pieces.

Crumble remainder of batter over the top. Pieces should be touching a bit, but do not try to spread the batter over the top. You want the caramel to still be showing through.

Return to oven for 15-18 minutes. (FYI–in this oven, it took me a little over 20 minutes)

Cool before cutting, then enjoy!

